Changing project settings

To view or change a project’s settings, click the Settings cog wheel changing_project_settings_1.png on the Dashboard for the project you want. Or, click the Settings tab in the top nav of your project view.

The project&#39s setting tab

Project members can only view project settings. Here’s a quick look at the different settings a project owner can change.

General

Project title

The title displays at the top left of the Project view, in the browser title, and in the sidebar of any Workspace that includes it.

Description

The description is shown in the Project Overview (accessible from your Accounts page and on the first tab when viewing Project Settings) and Project Profile (accessible to project owners from Project Settings).

Account

Project owners can click on Change Account to move the project to a different account. They must be an owner, administrator, or project creator in the target account.

Enable Tasks

Uncheck this if you don’t want tasks added to stories.

Iterations and Velocity

Click the ? next to Iterations and Velocity on the Settings page for a brief description of these options. Read on for more details.

Start Iterations On

This is the day of week on which iterations should start, which defaults to Monday. See more information about setting the iteration start day here. Tracker includes weekend days in the iteration, although those are rarely work days.

Project Start Date

This is optional. If specified, the first iteration of the project will start on this date, or the week of the first accepted story, whichever is earlier. The day of the week for that project start day (e.g., Monday, Tuesday) must match the Start Iterations On day. See Setting the iteration start day and project start date for more.

Project Time Zone

This is optional, and defaults to the time zone of the person who created the project. Iterations roll over at midnight in the project time zone, on the day of week specified in Start Iterations On.

Iteration Length

This is the default length of each iteration, in number of weeks. The default value is one week. You can override the length of individual iterations in Iteration Headers.

Initial Velocity

At the beginning of a project, Tracker will use a default initial value for velocity, as specified in Project Settings. When Tracker has enough information to calculate average velocity, the initial value won’t be used. However, the project will revert to this default velocity after a number of iterations with 0 accepted points.

Point Scale

Points are used for story estimation. You can select a different point scale at any time. Note that if you create a custom point scale, you can update the point scale values at any time, but you will not be able to revert to one of Tracker’s built-in point scales.

Velocity Strategy

This is the number of done iterations (i.e., iterations with stories accepted prior to the current iteration) to be used as the basis for calculating project velocity. The default (in Project Settings) is an average of three iterations, and can range from one to four iterations.

Number of Done Iterations to Show

This determines how many iterations are shown in the Done panel. The default (in Project Settings) is 12 iterations.

Plan Current Iteration Automatically

Tracker plans your iterations automatically. However, if you prefer to plan the current iteration manually, you can uncheck this setting.

Access

Allow API Access

By default, you can use GET, POST, and PUT commands in Tracker’s API to retrieve information or make updates. Uncheck this if you do not wish to allow API access.

Enable RSS/Atom

This allows users to subscribe to the project’s activity feed.

Public Access

If you check this box, any Tracker user that knows the URL can view your project. Anyone can self-join public projects as a viewer (read-only member) and follow stories, however, they won’t be able to make changes unless they’re explicitly invited as a member or owner.

Public projects don’t count toward your Tracker account plan limits.

Enable Incoming Emails

When this is checked, project collaborators can create comments in stories by replying to comment email notifications received from Tracker.

Hide Email Addresses

When this is checked, only project owners, account owners, and account admins can see email addresses for project collaborators and viewers. It also means that when new members are invited to other projects, the email addresses of anyone in the “hidden emails” project will not be autocompleted, unless that person is also invited to projects that do not have Hide Email Addresses selected.

More actions on the Settings page

Bugs and Chores May Be Given Points

By default, only features can be estimated with points. You can check this box to enable estimating bugs and chores, but we recommend against it, and it’s very difficult to reverse. If a story will provide immediate business value, make it a feature. Bugs and chores are an ongoing overhead for projects, but generally aren’t included in project velocity.

Delete Project

You can click to delete your project. Be careful, since there isn’t an option to undelete a project yourself. Tracker’s support team can recover recently deleted projects for you.

Archive Project

If a project is no longer active, you can archive it to retain the data and the option to unarchive it later. Archived projects do not count against your account plan limits.

Previous
Showing all projects
Next
Moving a project to a different account